sit at the front for a year
opera and ballets for 10 €
concerts for 8 €
all advantages for 15 € per year
All other info here

26.11.2017, 17:00
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Premiere
Le Prophète
Grand Opéra in five acts Giacomo Meyerbeer
Libretto by Eugène Scribe and Émile Deschamps
First performed on 16th April 1849 at Opéra national de Paris
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 26th November 2017
Conductor Enrique Mazzola
Stage Director Olivier Py
Set Design; Costume Design Pierre-André Weitz
Light Design Bertrand Killy
Chorus Master Jeremy Bines
Children's Chorus Christian Lindhorst
Dramaturge Jörg Königsdorf
Jean de Leyde Gregory Kunde
Zacharie Derek Welton
Mathisen Noel Bouley
Oberthal Seth Carico
1st Farmer Sandra Hamaoui
2nd Farmer Davia Bouley
1st Farmer / 1st Anabaptist / Citizen / Soldier Ya-Chung Huang
2nd Farmer / 2nd Anabaptist Taras Berezhansky
Officer Gideon Poppe
3rd Citizen Dean Murphy
4th Citizen Byung Gil Kim

4 hrs 30 mins / two intervals

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance
Supported by "Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages".Presented by Deutschlandfunk Kultur, taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin und Wall

“During that period I also saw the prophet for the first time – the prophet of the new world. It gladdened my heart. I felt uplifted inside and abandoned all my rabble-rousing plans which suddenly appeared so ungodly, seeing that divine humanity and sacrosanct truth in all its purity and noblesse had already nestled down warmly in our blessèd present day.” Such were the sentiments expressed by Richard Wagner in a letter he wrote in 1850 describing a visit to the Paris Opéra to see Meyerbeer’s “Le Prophète”. A year after its premiere, the performance he attended was already the 47th at that venue. Wagner’s ironically over-egged eulogy betrays a realisation – hard to swallow for the ambitious young composer – that the grand master of grand opéra, Giacomo Meyerbeer, and his body of work would be a force to be reckoned with for some time yet – especially in Paris, the epicentre of opera at the time.


It is no exaggeration to say that Meyerbeer was the most successful composer of opera of his generation. Long before Wagner’s musical dramas – more informed by Meyerbeer than the maestro was ever willing to admit – were accorded their shrine on the green hill in Bayreuth, the international star from Berlin was notching up triumphs in Paris and elsewhere that seemed quite impossible to equal, far less top. It was “Le Prophète”, not “Parsifal”, that French reviewers and art critics considered to be the paradigmatic work of the future, while audiences saw it – at least in France – as mirroring their own age of revolution and upheaval.

Meyerbeer’s grand opéra depicting the real-life Anabaptist ‘king’ Jean de Leyde is at once meticulously thought-through theatre of ideas and an historical panorama wise to the psychology of crowds, a tale of political radicalisation as private and public catastrophe. When the despotic Count Oberthal sequesters Jean’s fiancée, the simple innkeeper joins the Anabaptists, a Protestant sect. His function is to rally the masses in support of the Anabaptists, but the social utopia is undermined by the excesses of its power-drunk leaders. “Do you want to be your masters’ masters?” is the question posed by the Anabaptists to rouse the country folk at the start of the opera. Rather than achieving a classless society marked by liberty, equality and fraternity, the Anabaptists sought only to revolutionise power relations. One thread running through Meyerbeer’s work is the corrupting effect of power. The only voice of reason is that of the women, the powerless, apolitical inhabitants of this (19th century) world – headed by Jean’s mother Fidès, who warns her infatuated son to recant, proffering pure and total forgiveness in return.


The work is also a visual delight. The first electrical lighting in the history of opera (the “prophet’s sun”), an elaborate choreography “on ice” involving roller skates disguised as ice skates and a spectacular set that included a collapsing palace could be described as forerunners to the effects used in modern blockbusters. Add sophisticated chorus scenes and a running time of four and a half hours and one can be forgiven for assuming that the regrettable disappearance of Meyerbeer’s decidedly grand and expensive-to-mount operas from programmes in later decades was due to more than just the aspersions cast by Wagner. Regrettable, too, for the musical diversity of Meyerbeer that audiences were deprived of in that period: bucolic pastorals, portentous choruses, spectacular finales, Italian bel canto coloratura and French declamation – the composer’s trans-European proficiency knows no bounds. And if his works have one thing in common, it is the music written for vocal accompaniment and composed with specific singers in mind.

After coaxing the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin to triumphs with Meyerbeer’s “Dinorah” and “L’Africaine”, Enrique Mazzola, Music Director of the Orchestre National d’Île de France, once again takes the conductor’s stand. The opera is directed by French actor, director, intendant and author Olivier Py, a figure renowned as much for his political engagement as for the subtlety and allusive nature of his imagery.

- ein Jahr vorne sitzen
- Opern und Ballette für 10 €
- Konzerte für 8 €
- alle Vorteile für 15 € im Jahr
... Alles weitere hier

26.11.2017, 17:00 Uhr
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Premiere
Le Prophète
Grand Opéra in fünf Akten von Giacomo Meyerbeer
Libretto von Eugène Scribe und Émile Deschamps
Uraufführung am 16. April 1849 an der Opéra national de Paris
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 26. November 2017
Musikalische Leitung Enrique Mazzola
Inszenierung Olivier Py
Bühne, Kostüme Pierre-André Weitz
Chöre Jeremy Bines
Dramaturgie Jörg Königsdorf
Jean de Leyde Gregory Kunde
Zacharie Derek Welton
Mathisen Noel Bouley
Graf Oberthal Seth Carico
1. Bäuerin Sandra Hamaoui
2. Bäuerin Davia Bouley
1. Bauer / 1. Wiedertäufer / Bürger / Soldat Ya-Chung Huang
2. Bauer / 2. Wiedertäufer Taras Berezhansky
Offizier Gideon Poppe
3. Bürger Dean Murphy
4. Bürger Byung Gil Kim

ca. 4 Stunden 30 Minuten / Zwei Pausen

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts
Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.Präsentiert von Deutschlandfunk Kultur, taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin und Wall

„In dieser Zeit sah ich denn auch zum ersten Male den Propheten – den Propheten der neuen Welt: ich fühlte mich glücklich und erhoben, ließ alle wühlerischen Pläne fahren, die mir so gottlos erschienen, da doch das reine, edle, hochheilig Wahre und göttlich Menschliche schon so unmittelbar und warm in der seligen Gegenwart lebt.“ – So Richard Wagner in einem Brief aus dem Jahre 1850 über einen Vorstellungsbesuch von Meyerbeers „Le Prophète“ in der Pariser Opéra. Ein Jahr nach der Uraufführung begeisterte das Werk dort bereits in der 47. Vorstellung das Publikum. Die ironisch-übertriebene Lobeshymne verbirgt höchst unzulänglich eine für den ambitionierten Aufsteiger Wagner schwer zu verdauende Einsicht: dass um den Großmeister der Grand Opéra, Giacomo Meyerbeer, und dessen Werk so schnell nicht herumzukommen sei – vor allem nicht in der damaligen Hauptstadt der Oper, Paris.

Meyerbeer, dies lässt sich ohne Übertreibung sagen, war der erfolgreichste Opernkomponist seiner Generation. Lange bevor Wagners Musikdrama – das dem Einfluss Meyerbeers mehr verdankt, als der Meister je zuzugeben bereit war – auf dem Grünen Hügel eine eigene Pilgerstätte fand, feierte der Weltstar aus Berlin in Paris und überall scheinbar nicht mehr zu überbietende Erfolge. Als paradigmatisches Kunstwerk der Zukunft galt der französischen Kunstkritik nicht „Parsifal“, sondern „Le Prophète“. Dem Publikum wiederum erschien das Werk – zumal in Frankreich – als Spiegel der eigenen revolutionsgeschüttelten Epoche.

Meyerbeers Grand Opéra über den historischen Wiedertäuferkönig Jean de Leyde ist sorgfältig durchdachtes Ideentheater und massenpsychologisch geschultes Historienpanorama in Einem: die Geschichte einer politischen Radikalisierung als privater und öffentlicher Katastrophe. Als der despotische Graf Oberthal dem einfachen Gastwirt die Verlobte raubt, schließt Jean sich der protestantischen Sekte der Anabaptisten an. Als ihr Prophet soll er den Wiedertäufern die Massen zuführen. Doch Machtrausch und Maßlosigkeit untergraben die gesellschaftliche Utopie. „Wollt ihr die Herren eurer Herren sein?“ – mit dieser Frage stacheln die Wiedertäufer bereits zu Beginn der Oper die Landbevölkerung auf: nicht die klassenlose Gesellschaft, nicht Freiheit, Gleichheit, Brüderlichkeit, sondern eben bloß eine Umkehrung der Machtverhältnisse treibt diese Herzen um. Macht – dies die Erkenntnis von Meyerbeers Opernschaffen – korrumpiert. Einzige Stimme der Vernunft sind die Frauen, die – wir sind im 19. Jahrhundert – Unpolitischen, Machtlosen dieser Welt; allen voran Jeans Mutter Fidès, die den betörten Sohn zur Umkehr ermahnt und absolute Vergebung bietet.


Daneben gibt es einiges anzuschauen: Der erste elektrische Lichteffekt in der Geschichte der Oper, die sogenannte „Prophetensonne“, eine aufwändige Tanznummer „auf dem Eis“ mit zu Schlittschuhen verkleideten Rollschuhen oder die spektakulären Bühnenbauten inklusive einstürzendem Palast erinnern geradezu an moderne Blockbuster. Dazu kommen anspruchsvolle Chorszenen, eine Spieldauer von viereinhalb Stunden ... Insofern dürfte es nicht nur Wagners Stänkereien geschuldet sein, dass Meyerbeers aufwändige „Große Opern“ in späteren Zeiten aus den Spielplänen verschwanden. Schade drum! Auch um die vielseitige Musik: ländliche Pastoralen, unheilschwangere Choräle, spektakuläre Finali, italienische Belcanto-Koloraturen und französische Deklamation – Meyerbeers transeuropäisches Handwerkszeug kennt keine Grenzen. Und eines sind seine Opern allemal: große Gesangsmusik, die er seinen Interpreten minutiös auf die Stimmen schrieb.


Am Pult der Bismarckstraße steht ein weiteres Mal Enrique Mazzola. Zusammen mit dem Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin verhalf der Künstlerische Leiter des Orchestre National d'Ile de France bereits Meyerbeers „Dinorah“ und „Vasco da Gama“ zu gefeierten Aufführungen. Regie führt der französische Schauspieler, Regisseur, Intendant und Autor Olivier Py, der für sein politisches Engagement ebenso bekannt ist wie für seine suggestive, anspielungsreiche Bildersprache.